Editing Approvers in an Approval Workflow
There may be circumstances where you may want to change or edit the approvers you selected when you originally submitted work for approval. To do so, head to the Projects menu and select your project from the resulting list. Click the blue arrow next to the heading for Approvals.
Then click the i icon next to the approval you would like to edit.
On the resulting screen, click Edit Approvers. Note that you won't be able to see this button if the work is already fully approved. In this case, you will need to upload a new revision of work and re-submit that for approval instead.
From the resulting window, make changes to your approval workflow. Note that certain options may be greyed out depending on available functionality for your workflow. See the below section for instances where functionality may be unavailable or greyed out.
Before reading on, you may like to read up on ANY vs ALL approvals for Levels.
Making Changes to Approvers
The resulting screen uses the same functionality as the advanced approval submission screen.
On the right hand side of the screen, you will notice the different Approval Levels where you can edit your approval trail. Each level has a clear ANY or ALL toggle, and visualises the movement of your work through the approval process in a table.
Start by clicking a Green Arrow to add an individual to your approval levels. You can also remove a person from the workflow by clicking the Red X icon on the right side of the screen next to a person's name.
You can also browse for users, project teams, system groups or external users using the tabs near the top of the pop-up screen.
Then select your toggles for Any, All or Continuous if they are available.
Adding Users to an Existing Approval Level
You can add users to an existing approval level by clicking on the level heading that you'd like to add to. The selected level will highlight in grey.
Continue adding users to the level using the Green Arrow icon. Then click Done if you are finished editing your approvers, or continue reading.
Adding a New Approval Level
If you would like to add an extra approval level to your work flow, click New Approval Level and continue adding users to the new level using the Green Arrow icon.
Then click Done if you are finished editing your approvers, or continue reading.
Deleting an Entire Approval Level
Likewise, you may wish to delete an entire approval level if their approval is no longer needed. Click the Red X Icon next to that level to delete an entire level.
Then click Done once you're happy with your inputs.
Identifying Where "Edit Approver" Functionality May be Unavailable
There are a number of circumstances where editing approvers is not possible or where certain functionality is either reduced or unavailable:
- The work has already been approved or rejected by everyone on that level in an ALL approval
- The work has already been approved or rejected by one person on an ANY approval
- You cannot change an approval type from ALL to ANY where that level has already been sent the work to approve
- When changing an approval from an ANY to an ALL approval, you cannot edit the current level's approvers.