You're part of an ANY approval and someone has beaten you to it.
If you're part of an ANY approval, a member in your group (or level) may have already actioned the item for you. An ANY approval is indicated by a blue/green icon next to your approval path. If someone else in your ANY approval level actions the item, no further action is required from you.
You've already approved or requested changes on the item previously.
If this is the case, you'll see that the Approve or Changes buttons are greyed out. You'll also see either a tick or cross next to your name.
You're not looking at the latest version of the artwork.
An item can have multiple versions. You can approve or reject the current version of work that's been sent out for approval. However, if you're looking at an older version, you won't be able to approve or reject it. Instead, you'll receive a notification to let you know.
You need to respond to a mandatory approval checklist.
Certain users in admation can find themselves stuck if they haven’t filled in their forms properly. You can Request Changes without filling out a form. However, if you attempt to Approve an item without completing the checklist properly, you will receive a warning message.